Lysack appointed to the Order of Canada

Dauphin resident Dr. Allan Lysack is among new Members of the Order of Canada following appointments announced by Gov. Gen Adrienne Clarkson Jan 17.

Lysack was among 68 people appointed as Members of the Order. The announcement also included the appointment of 33 Officers and four Companions to the order as well as the appoint-ment of a British subject as an Honourary Officer. Six promo-tions were also made within the order.

The citation accompanying Lysack’s appointment reads:
The epitome of the rural physician and surgeon, he has been serving the citizens of Dauphin-Swan River to the high-est standards of his profession. His contributions to health care in rural Manitoba have benefited countless patients over the years. He established the province’s first rural intensive care unit and introduced new surgical proce-dures. The recipient of the 1997 Physician of the Year Award from the Manitoba Medical Association, he has served on local and provincial medical committees. Chief of Staff at the Dauphin General Hospital and assistant professor of Surgery at the University of Manitoba, he has been a role model and men-tor to many young physicians.

The Order of Canada recognizes people who have made a difference to Canada.

Three different levels of membership within the order honour people whose accom-plishments vary in degree and scope: Member, Officer and Companion. Members, of which Lysack is one, are recognized for distin-guished service to a particular group or in a particular field of activity at a local or regional level.

Members can use the letters C.M. after their name while Officers can use O.C. and Companions C.C.

Since 1967, more than 4,000 people have received the Order of Canada. New appointments to the Order are made twice each year and lists are announced around New Year’s Day and Canada Day.

- Souce: Dauphin Herald by Shawn bailey - Tue January 21, 2003

© Dauphin General Hospital Foundation | Webdesign by Bankert Marketing Inc.